Weekend

My body has finally
felt the messy sheets of my bed
it is 3 am
I don’t mind it

My body has harnessed enough alcohol
to quench the thirst of a 1000 pirates
I don’t mind it

I have bumped into
random souls
seeking fun, seeking a good talk
seeking that one more shot
on the dingy streets
I don’t mind it

I am an adult
or society has dubbed me as such
I do have a job
I do create, I do write
the way I always do
I am not rich and you know what
I don’t mind it!

I watch a movie or 2
at home because I am broke
I don’t mind it

I drink cheap wine
on a the 27th of this month
because I can’t afford
the signature one
and I don’t mind it

I wear a technicolored
outfit that consists of my Mom’s 1986 wardrobe
and my dad’s 1972 attire
and I don’t mind it

I can stay awake from Friday midnight
till Sunday 1 am
with no food, no water
just music and good people
and I don’t mind it

I can play music in my room
read poetry and have a blast
in my boxers with a cigarette in my hand
when everyone is dating
and I REALLY don’t mind it

I can be me, messy
clumsy, curly, unorganized
spontaneous, dangerous
unstable, loud, obnoxious
real, humble, hurtfully honest
and you know what
this I truly don’t mind

i have loved boys, men
and I have marveled and women
and awwed at girls, I have been broken
and mended, I have stood right back up
and fell a lot of times after
and yes, I don’t mind it
I am single, I am in my late 20’s
living in hipster-ville with a cat
and a roommate, with empty bottles of booze
decorating our empty tables with melting candles
I do not have a car, I do not share health tips
I do not count my drinks, nor my money
I do not have a makeup bag, nor any accessory bag
I have a camera, my phone,
my eye glasses, a pack of crumpled cigarettes
and my house keys and you know what
I don’t mind it!

I still long for the weekend
I still long for reckless nights
with unwritten endings that
spark up my living
I still dance with no rhythm
I still fall down in heels
and rip luxury dresses
I still nurture my true nature
and you know, no matter what
I do,
for some reason
will never
MIND
THAT

dance glitter effect

Leave a Reply

