“ICYMI”

Let me hold your hand
and walk through a pathless
road of unknowns
with fear on my side
and courage on my next
I think I found a balance

Let me entwine my fingers
with yours and show you
that differences can melt together
in almost symmetry
because we’re not the same
and that’s a good thing

Let me embrace you
and show you that hearts
do speak through our rib cages
just be quiet and hear them
as they drum, echoing thuds
from my chest to yours
and vice versa

Let me run my fingers through your hair
and show you that the simplest things
are the most powerful,
let me show you
that with every stride
my fingertips leave
small love notes
on the hair paths I create

Let me kiss you
and show you that some words
are too light to express
the weight of what I want to say

Let me look at you
and show you that
moments can be captured
with every blink
let me show you that nowness
is beautiful no matter how messy
and edgy it is, just if you let me

Let me cup your face with warmth
and show you that security
can be everywhere,  anytime

Let me sing to you
and show you that music
can soothe the coldest of moments
in the trunk of a broken car at 2 am
in a parking lot
all alone

Let me read to you
and show you that teleportation does exist
and transfer you to worlds beyond yours
and open your eyes to beauty
you never knew existed

Let me write to you
and show you
that you can feel
every word
pressured on that paper
make its impression
on your body
in the form of goosebumps
without actually
being here

with
me

write-me-please

 

Leave a Reply

