Broken Rib

I broke a rib the other day
and my heart fluttered its wings
of hope
Hope that one day
it will actually fly away
for this confined space
is no place
for a free bird to stay

I broke a rib the other day
and my heart beat …beat …beat 
beat me thuds of “let me out”
and played “freedom” chants
just to taste a world
outside of love and break

I broke a rib the other day
from a hug, it was a soft one
yet I felt the tug
of love from one arm to the next
and I heard the crack
the sent shivers to my lungs
and echoed to my heart

I broke a rib the other day
that confined my breathing
to systematic shorts
barely enough, but just enough
my lungs feared expansion
because too much of anything is bad
… bad.. bad... bad…as it echoes from
the child in me to the adult
who still fears darkness
who still fears growing up

I broke a rib the other day
and laughed in intervals
making me miss the high from
a good laughing fit
a good shriek after a scare
a scream for fuck’s sake after a good fight
that high of escaping your body
but not really
of polluting ..or better yet
decorating the air with a bit of you
or a lot it!

I broke a rib the other day
and I felt no pain
until I actually
felt like
breathing

rib-coupables

Leave a Reply

