Black Snake Blues

I heard the blues
the other day
and the window was crying
tears of acid rain
as they distorted my vision
hazing my view of the world outside

I heard the blues
the other day
and I heard the guitar cry
notes of sadness
that no words can inscribe
describe
or tug on my heart-strings

I heard the blues
the other day
and felt his voice
claw down my throat
like strong morning cigarette smoke
after a rough night of drinking

I heard the blues
the other day
and felt a certain kind
of euphoria in the music
whose lyrics have known
no happiness

I heard the blues
the other day
and let out a sigh
that embodied itself
in condensed white smoke
a little piece of me
released from the prison
of my body

I heard the blues
the other day
and felt what he felt
when his voice quivered about
her breaking his heart

I heard the blues
the other day
and I felt like it summoned
all my heartaches to sing
the best of hymns
in a powerful choir

I heard the blues
the other day
and I felt
its sultry company
comfort me
in the most
twisted of ways

I felt a certain kind of
love
for the broken
for the hurt
for the shattered
but most of all
for
the
un-loved

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

