Look Up

Walking home
under the rain
that’s making it’s way
from my head to the
tips of my hair, forming drops
that sway with every step forward

I’ve memorized those pavement squares
whose cracks greet my feet
in the morning and at night

I’ve seen those puddles
forming and expanding
as it rains harder and harder each day

I’ve seen shoes that go to work
tidy and neat, and damp
and soggy on the way back

That was yesterday…
Today, I decided to
look up

and a gust of wind embraced my face
cupping it with so much life
that my cheeks blushed
with the redness that turned cold chills
to warm thrills

I decided to look up
and the rain landed chilly kisses
on my face, causing it to squint
creating an “almost natural” smile

I decided to look up
and the stars glistened for my eyes
as they have been longing for my attention
for so long, longing for my eyes
to wish upon their beauty

I decided to look up
and the moon looked back
thanking me for that warm stare
that he’s missed
thanking me for giving him
some earthly love that for him
is long gone love

I decided to look up
and marvel at the big dark
sky that follows my vision
to the furthest of sights
embracing me with nocturnal
elation, seducing me to fall for my heart
and leave my mind at home

I decided to look up
and enjoy how tiny I feel
under the great dark sky
and feel like my worries
are as small as those small
dust specs that glow

I decided to look up
and enjoy
the moment
for once

I decided to look up
and do it
more
often

look-up-1

 

Leave a Reply

