This Morning

I woke up this morning
with a churning
gut feeling
confused between
butterflies and bitterness

I woke up this morning
with the aftertaste
of realization
dwindling between
mistake and courage

I woke up this morning
with an ashtray
of fear
a mix of anxiety
and curiosity

I woke up this morning
with piles
of memories around my room
gawking over me
poking me to do something
about them

I woke up this morning
with an empty cup
laced with remnants of
last night’s conversation
lingering on my tongue
stale with rejection
watered down with
rationale

I woke up this morning
with smoke in my hair
nestling between locks
locking in the paths
his hands used to make
night after night

I woke up this morning
with a headful of bits and pieces
of dreams disappearing
into reality

I woke up this morning
with a churning
gut feeling
dwindling between
thoughts of you
and thoughts of
us

sarah herranz lovers

 

Leave a Reply

