My Mind Left

My mind left my body
and went wondering
over wishes
held by the stars above
that still shimmer
like the first night
I wished upon them

My mind left my body
and went wondering
down the streets
that have met my drunken feet
over and over, alone
and dancing to my own tune

My mind left my body
and went wondering
down glasses of sliced lemons
and transparent toxins
that drown my inhibitions
after every gulp

My mind left my body
and went wondering
over clouds of thought
random and intense
as they pass by smoothly
making their way
from night till dawn

My mind left my body
and went wondering
and sat on benches
next to strangers
conversing about life
intoxicated by illusions
saddened by the fact
that they are illusions

My mind left my body
and went wondering
and people watching
monitoring the meaning
behind every gesture
every move
every embrace
fabricating my own
stories about their lives

My mind left my body
and went wondering
under dim street lights
dusty with cigarette conversations
rusty with hesitations
overlooking lovers, strangers
friends, and sometimes
moments of firsts..

My mind left my body
and went wondering
dancing with conversations
from her about broken hearts
cheating wishing stars
merciless time
future-reading-palms
and the unfairness of it all

My mind left my body
and went wondering
and settled in curls
twisted and dark
full of mystery
seducing my senses
in silence
flaming my fears
making things clear
the darker the night gets

My mind left my body
and went wondering
and racing
as I lay in bed
watching the ceiling’s color change
as dawn paints its way through
and the lights
welcome my mind
back into my body
making it whole
before

falling…

 

asleep

brain squeez

Retro Collages by Tara Hardy | Ape on the Moon: Contemporary Visual Culture

 

 

Leave a Reply

