5 Senses

Oh, if only you can feel
the pressure of my pencil
every time it writes about you
you’d be tattooed
with the unwritten
that places itself
in the space between
my mind and the paper

Oh, if only you can see
the world that thrives
behind my eyes,
where the sun rises
every time I blink and sets
every time my eyelids kiss

Oh, if only you can taste
the flavors my tongue
enjoys every time
it wets my lips
as it daydreams
and foresees
momentary
escapes
in my imagination

Oh, if only you can hear
the melody that tunes itself
to the scale of your vocals
as they subtly speak things
the ear can’t hear
but the heart
can
feel
and respond with a
different beat

Oh, if only you can smell
the scent that hypnotizes
all my senses to a numb state
relieving me from the strains
of what I should feel
and embracing me
what I feel
now
and it smells
just like
jasmine
on a lazy
random
summer
afternoon

Leave a Reply

